Cap T: Thirteen Years in Austin
Home » Past Production

A Lie of the Mind by Sam Shepard

11 March 2011

Outstanding Production of a Drama – B Iden Payne Award Nomination
Winner – Outstanding Featured Actor in a Drama – Travis Dean – B Iden Payne Awards
Winner – Outstanding Featured Actress in a Drama – Rebecca Robinson – B Iden Payne Awards
Outstanding Original Score – B Iden Payne Nomination

Capital T presents


by Sam Shepard

Directed by Mark Pickell

Scene Design by Paul Davis

Costume Design by Cheryl Painter

Light Design by Mark Pickell

Sound Design by Adam Hilton

Live Music by Jerry Hagins and Jesse Gregg

May 12-June 4

Thursday-Saturday at 7:30pm

Salvage Vanguard Theatre

Jake has brutally beaten his wife Beth and left her for dead.  Her brain damage is significant. His guilt is crippling.  Jake’s brother, Frankie, searches for the truth of Beth’s condition, while Jake’s father haunts him from the urn beneath his childhood bed.

An unlikely love story, A LIE OF THE MIND is both a chilling indictment of true love and an affirmation of its abiding ties. Capital T is proud to present this gritty, darkly humorous American drama by Pulitzer Prize winning playwright Sam Shepherd.

Listen to a preview of A LIE OF THE MIND featured on KUT 90.5

“a brilliant, shattering, weirdly hilarious play ”
Austin Chronicle
“Rough and Recommended

Austin Chronicle

“is at times brutal, at times sorrowful, and at times absolutely hilarious…a top-notch ensemble cast…another hit for this stellar company.
Austin Theatre Examiner



Jake – Kenneth Wayne Bradley

Frankie – Joey Hood

Beth – Rebecca Robinson

Mike – Mark Pickell

Lorraine – Karen Jambon

Sally – Liz Fisher

Meg – Melanie Dean

Baylor – Travis Dean

About the Playwright

Sam Shepard – Playwright
Considered one of the foremost modern American playwrights Sam Shepard was born the son of a career Army father and spent his childhood on military bases in the United States and Guam before his family settled on a farm in Duarte, California. In 1963, Shepard moved to New York City, where he began to write plays for the emerging experimental underground theater scene. In 1966, Red Cross, Chicago, and Icarus’s Mother earned Shepard a trio of Village Voice OBIE Awards. In 1967 and 1968, Shepard wrote La Turista, his first full-length play, Melodrama Play, and Forensic and the Navigators, all of which also won OBIEs, and Cowboys #2, which premiered in Los Angeles. He continued to write plays, completing Holy Ghostly and The Unseen Hand in 1969, Operation Sidewinder and Shaved Splits in 1970, and Mad Dog Blues, Back Bog Beast Bait, and Cowboy Mouth (written with poet/musician Patti Smith) in 1971. In 1974, Shepard became the playwright-in-residence at the Magic Theatre in San Francisco, a position he held until 1984. Plays from this period include Action (OBIE Award, 1974), Killers Head (1975), Angel City (1976), and Suicide in B-Flat (1976). Beginning in the late 1970s, Shepard applied his unconventional dramatic vision to a more conventional dramatic form, the family tragedy, producing Curse of the Starving Class and Buried Child in 1978 (both of which won OBIE Awards) and True West in 1980. Shepard achieved his warmest critical reception with Buried Child, which also won the Pulitzer Prize for drama. Throughout the 1980s and into the 90s, Shepard continued to write plays-Fool for Love (1983) won OBIEs for best play as well as direction, and A Lie of the Mind (1985) garnered the New York Drama Critics Circle Award and Outer Critics Circle Award for outstanding new play-and expanded his work in film. The Magic Theatre premiered The Late Henry Moss, starring Sean Penn and Nick Nolte, before it was moved to the Signature Theatre in New York in 2001. Shepard’s recent projects include the plays The God of Hell (2005) and Kicking a Dead Horse, which premiered in Dublin, Ireland in March 2007, and had its New York premiere in July 2008 at The Public Theater. In 1985 he was inducted into the American Academy of Arts and Letters, which awarded him the Gold Medal for Drama in 1992. In 1994 he was inducted into the Theatre Hall of Fame.