Cap T: Thirteen Years in Austin
Home » Past Production

Year of the Rooster by Eric Dufault

28 July 2015

“Year of the Rooster isn’t merely entertaining.
It’s astonishingly entertaining” — New York Times
Year of the Rooster by Eric Dufault

Capital T presents

The Year of The Rooster

by Eric Dufault

Directed by Mark Pickell

Starring: Kenneth Wayne Bradley, Jason Liebrecht, Lana Dieterich, Jason Newman, and Julia Bauer

August 20-September 19

Thursday – Saturday at 8pm

Hyde Park Theatre    511 W 43rd St

One day he will destroy the sun…

Gil Pepper is a loser.  Odysseus Rex is winner.  Against all odds Gil and his rooster will prove to his narcissistic mother, his teenage boss, local tycoon Dickie Thimble and the rest of the goddamn world that this is their year.  In the vein of KILLER JOE and LIEUTENANT OF INISHMORE Capital T Theatre is proud to present the Austin Premiere of this mythical baddass black comedy about love, underdogs, and cockfighting.

YEAR OF THE ROOSTER’s All-Star cast includes Jason Newman (Gruesome Playground Injuries) as the hapless Gil Pepper, Julia Bauer (DNA) as his foul mouthed teenage boss, Lana Dieterich (The Pain and the Itch) as Gil’s narcissistic mother, Kenneth Wayne Bradley (Killer Joe, Hunter Gatherers) as beef jerky tycoon and rooster enthusiast Dickie Thimble, and Jason Liebrecht as Odysseus Rex, the angriest and most vicious rooster the sun ever rose upon.

Running Time: 2 hours with intermission


Odysseus Rex – Jason Liebrecht

Dickie Thimble – Kenneth Wayne Bradley

Gil Pepper – Jason Newman

Lou – Lana Dieterich

Philipa – Julia Bauer

Eric Dufault – Playwright

Eric Dufault is a graduate of Sarah Lawrence College. His plays include: Year of the Rooster (New York Times’ Critics’ Pick, John Gassner Outer Critics Circle Award), The Tomb of King Tot, American Girls, and The Last Great Telemarketer. His plays have been performed at the Ensemble Studio Theatre as part of their 34th Annual Marathon of One Act Plays and Mainstage series. Additionally, his work has been performed at the Flea Theatre, the Marin Theatre, the 52nd Street Project, the Magnet Theatre, the Theater for the New City, the Lark Play Development Center, and the Great Plains Theatre Conference. He is the recipient of the 2014 Playwrights of New York Fellowship, a 2013 Sloan Commission, the 2013 David Colicchio Emerging Playwright Award, the 2010 Lipkin Playwriting Award, and the 2008, 2009, and 2010 Harle Adair Damann Playwriting Award. His work is included in the Best Ten-Minute Plays of 2014 and Best New Plays of 2014 anthologies. He is a member of the Obie award-winning Youngblood Playwriting Group and New Dramatists.